Honoring Outstanding Achievements: A Look at the Hawaii Sports Hall of Fame

The Hawaii Sports Hall of Fame is a prestigious honor that recognizes the remarkable accomplishments of world-class Hawaiian athletes. Every year, nominees from across the state are chosen for induction into the Hall of Fame. Among the distinguished members is Sue Butz-Stavin, who is one of only four women to receive the Distinguished Member honor when she was inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame. Butz-Stavin is also the most successful field hockey coach in Pennsylvania sports history and has been inducted into the Hall of Fame of the National Association of Field Hockey Coaches.

She has been honored with numerous state and national awards for Best Coach of the Year and has been named a member of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame, the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame, and the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Another noteworthy member is Carlsrud, who managed sports such as soccer, men's basketball, men's ice hockey, baseball, and men's golf. He was instrumental in passing a weight control rule that helped reduce weight in the sport while on the Wrestling Rules Committee. At the national level, Carlsrud made significant contributions to the NFHS's efforts to draft the NFHS rules in soccer and wrestling. Winsor has also served as sports director at Xavier Prep and has been a pioneer and leader in women's equality in sports. He is a founding member of the AIA Women's Equity and Sports Committee.

Atlas Insurance Agency was founded in 1929 with the goal of supporting generations of families and small businesses in Hawaii. The Hawaii Sports Hall of Fame is Hawaii's State Museum of Sports History that records these outstanding achievements. It is an honor to be inducted into this prestigious hall and these individuals have made remarkable contributions to their respective sports.